Confession Time

Josh and I before the Kent, OH, Tree City Turkey Trot. It was a great morning for a run.

Josh and I before the Kent, OH, Tree City Turkey Trot. It was a great morning for a run.

Confession – It’s been nearly a month since my last good run. I finished the Tree City Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving Day in Kent, OH, but have barely run since. And I haven’t run at all in the past nearly three weeks.

Most of this is due to illness and injury, with a little bit of work craziness thrown in. I even skipped my December 9 half marathon, thanks to the worst migraine of my life. It attacked the Friday morning before the Sunday race, and by Saturday afternoon I was still out of it and tired (pain is exhausting). So I decided not to run, which was definitely the best decision to make at the time.

My head no longer hurts, so why haven’t I run since then? Well, the Sunday I was supposed to be running the half, I instead hung out with Josh. He picked me up in a bear hug, tried to carry me across the room and ended up bruising one of my ribs! In his defense, it was the site of a previous rib injury about 18 months prior, which I guess made it a touch delicate.

So a week of serious pain has led into a week of healing, during which I didn’t run a lick.

I finally started to feel like myself again, just in time for busy family time for Christmas. For New Years, an out of town trip to see my favorite LSU Tigers beat Clemson in the Chick-Fil-A Bowl means runs will still be few and far between.

Maybe it’s time to start making my New Years resolutions? I’m signed up for one of my favorite races, Baton Rouge’s Mardi Gras Mambo 10k, on February 16th. It was the first longer-than-a-5k race I ever ran and it’s still a great time.

Save $10 on the 2013 Rock and Roll New Orleans half or full marathon with code ROCKNOLA1!

Save $10 on the 2013 Rock and Roll New Orleans half or full marathon with code ROCKNOLA1!

Also on the list for sure – Rock and Roll New Orleans half marathon on February 24th. I’ll have 7.5 weeks to train once January begins and I better get to it.

(It’s not too late for you to sign up and start training for #RnRNOLA. You can save $10 when you register for the RnRNOLA half or full with code ROCKNOLA1.*)

The plan right now is simply to get out there and run in January… I’ll do at least one eight mile run that month. During the first two weekends in February I’ll get up to 10 and 11 miles before tapering with the Mardi Gras Mambo 10k a week before the half.

I officially can’t wait! Even just making this plan has me feeling better about the situation. Seriously, too much food and not enough movement has this slow trier feeling even more turtle-ish than normal. Not good, but nothing that can’t be overcome.

*I am blogging about my training experience for Rock and Roll New Orleans half marathon and in return, I’ve been compensated for my registration.
This entry was posted in Half Marathon, Life, Races, Rest, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confession Time

  1. Like you, my goal is to get out there and run this month. Granted, it’s easier said than done… but I haven’t been doing horribly so far (you know, seven days in and all.) Good luck getting back into the swing of things, and fingers crossed that sickness and injuries don’t hold you back during this period of your training!

    • SlowTrier says:

      Good job! I still haven’t gone on my first run of the year. I’m planning to start today with a walk that will hopefully include a couple minutes of running. After everything in my post (migraine, ribs, work), I got really sick over New Years and I’m just getting back to full strength. My goal — take it slowly and rebuild safely.

Leave a Reply

