Let’s get social

Did you watch the Presidential debate Wednesday with one eye on Twitter like I did? As many news outlets have pointed out, the 2012 debates are the first to include a large Twitter audience. It got me thinking about the impact of social media on my life, especially the running, swimming, biking side of things.

I Run Louisiana

In fact, I know social media played a big part in getting me where I am now. Just three years ago, I was pretty sedentary and significantly overweight. I started walking and then running after about a year, with help from the Couch to 5K app on my smart phone. On Facebook, I let a friend talk me into running my first 10k in February 2011. That race wasn’t that long ago, just 18 months actually.

It was around the same time that I got into Twitter (@ldeblieux) and found the #RunLA community. #RunLA, or Run Louisiana, describes itself as:

“a group of like-minded individuals who share in the daily ups and downs of training. We also discuss upcoming races, new products, and almost anything else that pertains to being active. To join the discussion, use the hashtag #RunLA.”

Since then, I’ve met cool people online and in person. I’ve talked myself into races and tweeted about it to hold myself accountable (Rocketchix 2011, my first triathlon) and done things I never would have dreamed of. In October 2011, Twitter and Facebook alerted me to a major discount for the Rock and Roll New Orleans half marathon and I decided it was too good of a deal to pass up.

Social media bullied me into signing up for my first half marathon.

I didn’t plan to do a half marathon in 2012, but I’m so glad I did. It was another case of social media convincing me I could do something that I otherwise would not have felt ready for. Social media has continued to play that role. I joined a team for the 2012 Rouge Orleans ultramarathon relay after a tweet from @KatieRunsThis, who I met on Twitter first and then in real life before my first triathlon.

The Tweets that started my journey from Baton Rouge to New Orleans along the levee on a February night.

In short, my entire adult athletic career has been dominated by social media. From yesterday’s four mile run, when I wanted to stop at three miles, but ran a bit extra knowing I wanted to post my run on Twitter, and new product reviews, to lots of blogs by other slow wannabe athletes giving it their all and race encouragement, social media plays a huge role in this Slow Trier’s life.

Don’t forget: I’ve got a discount to offer for the 2013 Rock’n’Roll New Orleans marathon and half marathon. Use code ROCKNOLA1 when you register to save $10. The half marathon is $90 and the full is $95 (before discount) until October 31st. Talk about a social media hook up!*

*I am being compensated with a free race entry for blogging about my Rock’n’Roll New Orleans training and race experiences.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

