Running Ohio and Cleveland Marathon 5K

Pausing for a self-portrait after I accidentally ran up the biggest hill on campus the first leg of my vacation run.

It’s been about three weeks since my last post, and, until Saturday, it had been the same amount of time since my last run. In fact, my last run was Thursday, May 17, during a short vacation in Kent, Ohio, to visit Josh’s family. I took advantage of the beautiful weather (56 degrees at 10:00 a.m. in mid-May) and a beautiful venue (Kent State University, within walking distance of where we were staying) to get in three miles.

The campus featured some incredible sculptures, beautiful flowers, black squirrels and HILLS! I ran campus blind (heading out and trusting my phone would get me back) and made the mistake of tackling the worst hill on campus within the first half mile of my run. All in all, it was a fun 3.5 miler, with lots of pretty things to look at, great weather and almost no people out. Kent State is a very pretty campus.

This wasn’t the steepest hill I climbed in Kent, but it was the prettiest.

Following my run (and yes, I had to use my phone to find my way back to the house, adding about half a mile to my planned distance), we cleaned up and toured downtown Kent. This town is seriously adorable, the weather was great and our tour guides (Josh’s brother and sister-in-law) are awesome people.

Friday, we got a late start and headed north of Kent to Cleveland to check out the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. Very cool place.

That evening, we drove around the city and enjoyed a “make your stir fry” dinner at a Mongolian BBQ restaurant. Basically, you go through a buffet of ingredients, mix your own sauce, add spices and then have the cooks whip it all together on a giant hibachi-like griddle. Fun! We drove back to Kent and stayed up way too late, considering we had to be up by 5:00 to head back to Cleveland.

Cleveland is definitely the farthest north I’ve ever traveled to participate in a race.

Barbara and a family friend, along with Pierre the service dog, walk the Cleveland Marathon 5K.

Josh’s mom, Barbara, organized about a dozen friends and family to walk the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon 5K as part of a fundraiser for the Multiple Myeloma Foundation.

The race started outside the Cleveland Browns stadium, looped around part of downtown Cleveland and finished on the field (well, technically on the edges of the field). So along with being my first race outside of Louisiana and definitely my farthest race north, it also marks the first time I’ve stood on the field of an NFL stadium.

Oh, Josh and I finished the “race” in just over 58 minutes. It was fun, casual day with friends and family – something that was more important than times (and getting sweaty, frankly).

Josh and I on the field at the Cleveland Brown Stadiums.

Post-race, Josh, his brother and sis-in-law and I headed back to Kent, stopped for a post-race breakfast at Bob Evans (think Cracker Barrel with less cheesy decorations) and took a long nap! Saturday night the menu was hanging out, grilling and drinking wine. On Sunday, we flew back to Baton Rouge. Within the week, I caught a cold that kept me running for two weeks… Update on that to come.

This entry was posted in Life, Races, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Ohio and Cleveland Marathon 5K

  1. Josh says:

    Don’t forget to mention how we were the fastest in our group, a fast 58 minutes.

Leave a Reply

